In Year of Big News, 50 Local Stories You May Have Missed

The year 2020 was one for the history books, but it’s safe to say few will shed a tear as it draws to a merciful close in a few short days.

Those of us in our industry, who typically spend much of the last couple of weeks of each December compiling and reviewing the year’s top news, face a significant challenge.

For most of 2020, headlines across the city, county, state, nation and globe were dominated by a handful of singular stories: the coronavirus pandemic, large protests centering on racial injustice, devastating wildfires that ravaged the West Coast, an unusually rancorous election cycle that’s likely to influence American politics for years to come.

How does one review such happenings, which most readers already know all too well (and more than a few would probably prefer to forget)?

Instead, we bring you a review of a different sort: 50 unique stories from Canby and the surrounding areas this year, which you may have missed in the noise and furor of an unprecedented year.

These are stories of triumph, stories of heart, stories that remind you of the special community in which we have the privilege of living.

We hope you enjoy this review, and join us in looking forward to a happier — and healthier — new year.

1. Star Shines above Canby-based Pure Seed, Marking 20-Year Tradition of Hope https://canbyfirst.com/star-shines-above-canby-based-pureseed-marking-20-year-tradition-of-hope/

2. Community Facebook Group Gives Gifts of Joy at Christmastime https://canbyfirst.com/community-facebook-group-give-gifts-of-joy-at-christmastime/

3. Straight Paw-ler: NBA Superstar’s New Pup Hails from Canby Newfie Enthusiasts https://canbyfirst.com/straight-paw-ler-nba-superstars-new-pup-hails-from-canby-newfie-enthusiasts/

4. 12-Year-Old Donates Stuffed Animals to CPD for His Birthday https://canbyfirst.com/12-year-old-donates-stuffed-animals-to-cpd-for-his-birthday/

5. Neighbors Team Up to Deck ‘Community Christmas Tree’ on 13th Avenue https://canbyfirst.com/neighbors-team-up-to-deck-community-christmas-tree-on-13th-avenue/

6. Beloved Elementary School Secretary Battling Cancer https://canbyfirst.com/beloved-elementary-school-secretary-battling-cancer/

7. Canby Family Plans Display to Honor Father’s Legacy of Lights, Joy https://canbyfirst.com/canby-family-plans-display-to-honor-fathers-legacy-of-lights-joy/

8. Canby Rotary Builds, Gives Away Desks for Home Learning https://canbyfirst.com/canby-rotary-builds-gives-away-desks-for-home-learning/

9. Canby Celebrates a Halloween Like No Other https://canbyfirst.com/canby-celebrates-a-halloween-like-no-other/

10. Canby Rebels Rock ‘League of Their Own’-Inspired Unis https://canbyfirst.com/canby-rebels-sport-league-of-their-own-inspired-unis/

11. Dieker Leaves Legacy of Joy for Canby Children https://canbyfirst.com/dieker-leaves-legacy-of-joy-for-canby-children/

12. Canby’s ‘T-Rex Family’ Brings Joy in Unexpected Places https://canbyfirst.com/canbys-t-rex-family-brings-joy-in-unexpected-places/

13. Aurora Opened Doors to Colton Fire during Wildfire Crisis https://canbyfirst.com/aurora-opened-doors-to-colton-fire-during-wildfire-crisis/

14. Deputies Bust Thieves Loaded with Hemp they Thought was Marijuana https://canbyfirst.com/deputies-bust-thieves-loaded-with-hemp-they-thought-was-marijuana/

15. Hellspawn Battle Undead Pirates at Canby Home https://canbyfirst.com/hellspawn-battle-undead-pirates-at-canby-home/

16. The Wedding the Coronavirus and Wildfires Couldn’t Stop is Happening in Canby https://canbyfirst.com/the-wedding-the-coronavirus-and-wildfires-couldnt-stop-is-happening-in-canby/

17. Austen Marks 50 Years of Service to Canby Fire https://canbyfirst.com/austen-marks-50-years-of-service-to-canby-fire/

18. ‘This Is What We Do’; Volunteers Keep Fairgrounds Afloat During Evacs https://canbyfirst.com/this-is-what-we-do-volunteers-keep-fairgrounds-afloat-during-evacs/

19. Community Rallies Around Kitten Stowaway https://canbyfirst.com/community-rallies-around-kitten-stowaway/

20. Wilson Crews Fight Fires on Front Lines in Scotts Mills https://canbyfirst.com/wilson-crews-fight-fires-on-front-lines-in-scotts-mills/

21. Aurora Gifts Fire Engine to Idanha-Detroit — to Replace One Lost in Beachie Creek https://canbyfirst.com/aurora-gifts-fire-engine-to-idanha-detroit-to-replace-one-lost-in-beachie-creek-fire/

22. Amid Wildfire Devastation, Acts of Kindness Abound https://canbyfirst.com/amid-wildfire-devastation-acts-of-kindness-abound/

ADVERTISING

23. Whiskey Business: Childhood Sweethearts Return Home to ‘Restore the Store’ https://canbyfirst.com/whiskey-business-childhood-sweethearts-return-home-to-restore-the-store/

24. Teacher’s Pandemic-Era Trivia Nights Culminate in New Book https://canbyfirst.com/teachers-pandemic-era-trivia-nights-culminate-in-new-book/

25. Mother of Missing Son Warns of Kidnapping Ransom Scam https://canbyfirst.com/mother-of-missing-son-warns-of-kidnapping-ransom-scam/

26. Canby Grad’s Short Film Named Oregon’s Best at Festival https://canbyfirst.com/canby-grads-short-film-named-oregons-best-at-festival/

27. Classic Cars Destined for Aurora’s Main Drag https://canbyfirst.com/classic-cars-destined-for-auroras-main-drag/

28. Principal Offers Music, Hope to Students: ‘You’ll Be Back’ https://canbyfirst.com/principal-offers-music-hope-to-students-youll-be-back/

29. On Doody: Kidtrepreneurs Pick Up Where They Left Off https://canbyfirst.com/on-doody-kidtrepreneurs-pick-up-where-they-left-off/

30. Oregon’s Oldest House Is Being Restored Near Canby https://canbyfirst.com/oregons-oldest-house-is-being-restored-near-canby/

31. CHS Band to Play Role in Netflix Feature Film https://canbyfirst.com/chs-band-to-play-role-in-netflix-feature-film/

32. Mustang on a Mission: Canby Man Builds Tribute to Vets, First Responders https://canbyfirst.com/mustang-on-a-mission-canby-man-builds-tribute-to-vets-first-responders/

33. CHS Grad and Team Wow Judges on America’s Got Talent https://canbyfirst.com/chs-grad-and-team-wow-judges-on-americas-got-talent/

34. Canby Music Store Renovating Historic Home on North First Street for New Location https://canbyfirst.com/canby-music-store-renovating-historic-home-on-north-first-street-for-new-location/

35. ‘Aimin’ Ayden’: Canby High School Trapshooting May Have Found Their Next Big Thing https://canbyfirst.com/aimin-aiden-canby-high-school-trapshooting-may-have-found-their-next-big-thing/

36. ‘Amazing’ Bella Capra Takes Second Place at Indoor Skydiving Nationals for Second Year in a Row https://canbyfirst.com/amazing-bella-capra-takes-second-place-at-indoor-skydiving-nationals-for-second-year-in-a-row/

37. Surf On Over to Canby’s Newest Store: Moondoggies Overstock & Liquidation https://canbyfirst.com/surf-on-over-to-canbys-newest-store-moondoggies-overstock-liquidation/

38. Corona Caroling? Local Musician Bringing Joy to Others ‘from a Distance’ https://canbyfirst.com/corona-caroling-local-musician-brings-joy-to-others-from-a-distance/

39. Willamette Egg Farms Delivers 65,000 Pounds of Food to Canby and Surrounding Communities https://canbyfirst.com/willamette-egg-farms-donates-65000-pounds-of-food-to-canby-and-surrounding-communities/

40. Carus Elementary Teachers Deliver ‘Drive-By Hug’ to Students with Friday Morning Parade https://canbyfirst.com/carus-elementary-teachers-deliver-drive-by-hug-to-students-with-friday-morning-parade-photos/

41. No Parade, No Problem: Canby Celebrates Fourth in Style https://canbyfirst.com/no-parade-no-problem-canby-celebrates-fourth-in-style/

42. Canby Vocalist Pens ‘America,’ Song about Nation’s Reckoning with Racial Injustice https://canbyfirst.com/canby-vocalist-pens-america-song-about-nations-reckoning-with-racial-injustice/

43. Canby City Employee on Bout with Covid: ‘I Did Not Expect to Get as Sick as I Did’ https://canbyfirst.com/canby-city-employee-on-bout-with-covid-i-did-not-expect-to-get-as-sick-as-i-did/

44. Beloved Pastor Lost to Covid-19: ‘God Better Be Ready to Laugh’ https://canbyfirst.com/beloved-pastor-lost-to-covid-19-god-better-be-ready-to-laugh/

45. Care Partners Spread Love, with Flowers, at Marquis Hope Village https://canbyfirst.com/care-partners-spread-love-with-flowers-at-marquis-hope-village/

46. St. Patrick Church Mourns Passing of ‘Father John’ https://canbyfirst.com/st-patrick-church-mourns-passing-of-father-john/

47. ‘Our Day Was Wednesdays’; Wilson Construction was Lifeline for Local Restaurants during Shutdown https://canbyfirst.com/our-day-was-wednesdays-wilson-construction-was-lifeline-for-local-restaurants-during-shutdown/

48. Canby Salon Seeks ‘Best Worst’ Quarantine Home Hairstyle https://canbyfirst.com/canby-salon-seeks-best-worst-quarantine-home-hairstyle/

49. Canby High School Class of 2020 Celebrates Stadium Lighting in their Honor https://canbyfirst.com/canby-high-school-class-of-2020-celebrates-stadium-lighting-in-their-honor/

50. Seeking ‘Humor in Hardship,’ Austen’s Body Shop Marks Covid Era with TP-Themed Canby Bars https://canbyfirst.com/seeking-humor-in-hardship-austens-body-shop-marks-covid-era-with-tp-themed-canby-bars/

Help us build a sustainable news organization to serve Canby for generations to come! Let us know if you can support our efforts to launch a 21st-century newspaper today. #SwimWithTheCurrent!