Republicans Hieb, Bonham Sworn In to Represent Canby Area in State Legislature

Representative James Hieb, of Canby, and Senator Daniel Bonham, of The Dalles, were officially sworn in to represent districts that include the Canby area during the opening day of the 82nd Legislative Session on Monday.

“Words cannot express the tremendous honor that it is to serve my friends, neighbors, and constituents in Canby and throughout the 51st District,” Hieb said in a press release. “I am humbled by the great trust they have placed in me to serve as their voice in the People’s House, and I will not let them down. Now, the real work begins.”

Prior to the new redistricting lines taking effect, Hieb was appointed in February 2022 to serve out the unexpired term of former House Republican Leader Christine Drazan, who resigned her position in an ultimately unsuccessful gubernatorial bid.

Hieb, who is a U.S. Marine Corps Iraq War veteran, former vice chair of the Canby Planning Commission and director of an early learning center in Wilsonville, was elected to his first full term in November with more than 65% of the vote.

Former state Representative Daniel Bonham, R-The Dalles, who defeated his Democratic challenger Raz Mason in the same election, was also sworn in this week to represent the newly redistricted Senate District 26, which includes Canby. According to a release, Bonham is a lifelong Oregonian who raised his own family in the state.

Courtesy Senator Daniel Bonham.

“I am honored to be trusted by Oregonians to serve as state senator for District 26,” said Bonham. “We have work to do in this state and in our communities, but I am optimistic about the future. I look forward to being part of the Oregon Senate.”

In Clackamas County, Senate District 26 encompasses all of Canby, Estacada, Sandy and the Villages of Mount Hood. It includes parts of Oregon City, Beavercreek, Mulino, and Boring. District 26 also includes East Multnomah County, Hood River County, and a Portion of Wasco, which includes The Dalles.

Bonham also announced he will serve as deputy leader of the Senate Republican Caucus for the 2023 legislative session, joined by Senators Dick Anderson, Lynn Findley and Kim Thatcher.

“I am pleased to welcome Senator Bonham to the leadership team,” Senate Republican Leader Tim Knopp, R-Bend, said in a release. “His breadth of knowledge, leadership experience, and perspective gained during his tenure in the House will be an invaluable asset to our team. As the session begins, we are eager to get to work to address the most pressing issues facing Oregonians and offer solutions delivering real results.”

Bonham was first appointed to the Oregon House of Representatives in 2017, where he served as a House Republican deputy leader under Drazan. Bonham won the Republican primary for the Senate District 26 race last year after former Senator Chuck Thomsen, R-Hood River, opted not to seek another term.

Courtesy Representative James Hieb.

Hieb announced he will serve on two committees during the upcoming legislative session: the Early Childhood and Human Services Committee and Emergency Management, General Government and Veterans Committee.

“My experiences serving my country as a U.S. Marine Iraq War combat veteran and, currently, as director of an early learning center serving hundreds of children and families has uniquely prepared me for making important contributions to these two committees,” Hieb said in the release.

“Serving and protecting my fellow veterans, first responders, children and families are among my top priorities, and I look forward to putting these passions to work for the People of Oregon.”

The 82nd Oregon Legislative Assembly will begin on Tuesday, January 17, 2023.

Help us build a sustainable news organization to serve Canby for generations to come! Let us know if you can support our efforts to expand our operations and keep all of our content paywall-free. #SwimWithTheCurrent!