Drazan Appointed to Co-Chair New, Bipartisan Group of Lawmakers Representing Clackamas County

Seventeen members of the Oregon Legislature have joined forces to establish the Clackamas Caucus — a bipartisan, bicameral group of state legislators collectively representing the residents of Clackamas County. In one of their first actions, the group appointed Rep. Jeff Reardon (D-Happy Valley) and Rep. Christine Drazan (R-Canby) as co-chairs for the 2019 legislative session.

“Clackamas County residents deserve their elected officials to unite and advocate on their behalf,” Rep. Reardon said in a press release. “It is essential that we come together and stand as a bloc to get things done that help our diverse county.”

Members are committed to working together through the caucus to identify key priorities in the Legislature, with an emphasis on issues that directly impact the people of Clackamas County, such as transportation issues, infrastructure issues, and finding ways to encourage rural and urban economic growth throughout the region.

“There are many regional issues that will impact all of our constituents,” Rep. Drazan said. “I am pleased that we are coming together with a spirit of cooperation to work for the people of Clackamas County.”

In addition to Reardon and Drazan, the Clackamas Caucus includes Sen. Cliff Bentz (R-Ontario), Sen. Shemia Fagan (D-Clackamas), Sen. Alan Olsen (R-Canby), Sen. Kathleen Taylor (D­Milwaukie), Sen. Kim Thatcher (R-Wilsonville), Sen. Chuck Thomsen (R-Happy Valley), Sen. Rob Wagner (D-Lake Oswego), Rep. Janelle Bynum (D-Happy Valley), Rep. Rick Lewis (R-Silverton), Rep. Mark Meek (D-Gladstone), Rep. Courtney Neron (D-Wilsonville), Rep. Karin Power (D­Milwaukie), Rep. Rachel Prusak (D-West Linn), Rep. Andrea Salinas (D-Lake Oswego), and Rep. Anna Williams (D-Sandy).

Help us build a sustainable news organization to serve Canby for generations to come! Let us know if you can support our efforts to expand our operations and keep all of our content paywall-free. #SwimWithTheCurrent!